A Need for Solitude

lindbergh

I just finished Anne Morrow Lindbergh’s “A Gift From The Sea” which, through a series of meditative essays written in 1955, promotes that women need time to themselves in order to recharge.  Perhaps a radical idea back in 1955, despite technological advances in time-saving gadgets, it’s still a struggle for many of us today.  I wish I had read this book twenty years ago, when I was first married, with young children and struggling to maintain my sense of self and express myself creatively.  Lindbergh (and so many others after her) advises that we schedule this alone time the same way that we schedule all our other very important appointments.  And we should not fear the silence and solitude.  How many of us take the time to do that?  –And she talks about  true solitude and silence, away from Facebooking or other busy noisy background filler (for her, it was the radio and TV).  True, contemplative silence is necessary time for prayer, meditation, imagination and mental rest that recharges us to return to our responsibilities.

Here’s a cross posting from a friend’s blog that I follow – the same friend who recommended Lindbergh’s book – as she seeks moments of silence and solitude to recharge.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “A Need for Solitude

  1. Love this book! Wish I had it earlier too.

  2. I have trouble finding time to actually find the moment to do it. I wake up early to get it sometimes, but sometimes the girls wake up early, too. Then I try for it during nap times but that littler one of mine doesn’t always nap! But now I feel ahead of the game just for knowing and accepting that it is a necessity.
    Also, it makes me so happy to see that you follow my blog, as long neglected as it is.

Leave a Reply

